Input and Internal Endpoints in Windows Azure

Azure cloud services had two types of environments- Production and Staging. The production environment will have  permanent DNS name associated with it and it resolves to a Single Public Virtual IP. The DNS name of Staging environment will keep changing and it will also resolve to a Public VIP.

Intput endpoints are defined for enabling external connections to the Public VIP of the cloud service. HTTP,HTTPS or TCP  protocol can be used for connection. The ports , protocols and certificates to be used for the connection can be defined in the csdef file in the <Endpoints> configuration session. Sample given below

      <InputEndpoint name="httpsin" protocol="https" port="443" certificate="SSL" />
      <InputEndpoint name="httpin" protocol="http" port="80" />

  • Each defined endpoint must listen on a unique port
  • A hosted service can have upto maximum of 25 input endpoints, that can be distributed among roles
  • Azure load balancer uses the port defined in the config file to make sure that the service is available in internet
Internal endpoints are used for role to role communication. Again maximum of 25 endpoints are available per hosted service. When you define the internal endpoint, the port is not mandatory. If port is not defined, Azure fabric controller will  assign them

         <InternalEndpoint name="InternalHttpIn" protocol="http" port="1000"/>


  1. This is a very nice article. thank you for publishing this. i can understand this easily.Azure Online Training


Post a Comment

Popular Posts